11 months.

I haven’t blogged in..2 months. That’s pathetic. SORRY.

It’s been busy with the 5th issue of Companion Magazine coming out, the holiday’s, starting my own freelance thing, you know, the usual procrastination excuses.

BUT.. I can tell you that I have been feeling really great, and that’s the best procrastination excuse of them all. That I have been feeling way too good to blog lately.

When I first began this journey and was diagnosed and then found out I had to have an ostomy and then a jpouch, many of you know that I turned to blogs and support sites to find answers to the questions that would come into my head at 3 a.m. when I was up in pain or taking care of my pouch. A lot of these sites had great information and I found a lot of great inspirational people to compare my journey to and who made me remember that tomorrow was a new day and a day closer to being healthy again.

When it came down to actual milestones, though, many of these blogs and sites lacked what I was looking for. So, with this blog, I have tried to do my best to write, in detail, about milestones that I have reached. For example, my second surgery.  Before that date I could not find ANY blog posts about what the recovery was like after the second operation. So, I made sure to write, in full detail, what life was like before and after surgery number 2.

quoteNow, I have A LOT of people asking me what my life is like with my jpouch 11 months out. A lot of doctors, surgeons and nurses will tell you that it takes a year to get used to what life is like living with a jpouch. I had a minor set back this past summer with my cuffitis and iron infusions and all of that fun stuff. But, once I learned how to take care of my jpouch the right way and that I can no longer live the stressful, fast paced life I lived before I had ulcerative colitis, things have been getting a little easier.

My impression of what life would be like right now when I had my first surgery compared to what it actually is are two completely different things. I thought that life would be normal again. That I would be able to eat whatever I wanted, go out with friends until all hours of the night, drink alcohol, have a stressful lifestyle and have the energy to do it all 7 days a week.

No.

I have learned rather quickly that all of that is the exact opposite of what I should be doing. I’m trying my best to get my diet under control, it’s tough considering I ate so boringly when I had ulcerative colitis. Now I do have a little leeway, but when I do eat poorly I do pay for it still. Not in pain but the bathroom trips do rack up, especially for me at night. I know what I should be eating, high lean protein, no sugar, no fiber, low carb, no alcohol, boring, boring, blah blah blahhhh. BUT, if I want to feel good, I know that’s what I need to follow. And I can tell you that it is truly as simple as that. Following the rules really do benefit you.

Guess our 7th grade teachers were right. Ew.

I am working out a lot again, which is great! It’s nice to be able to pick my pace back up in the gym. That was one of my biggest frustrations while I was sick and while I was recovering from surgeries. I still need to take it easy and cardio and ab work are rough, but building back up those abdominal muscles will come with time, like anything else.

Keeping up with the pace of friends and family has probably been the toughest realization for me. The fact that I just cannot is a pill that seems to get tougher to swallow each time I’m walking or taking an uber home early. I am very in touch with my body since everything happened and I know when it is telling me at 11 p.m. on a Friday night, “Hey dumby, I’ve had enough.”

My back starts to hurt, I start to get really, really fatigued and I can get nauseous or crampy. It sucks, but it’s my life. On nights when I know that I’m going to go out or be busy, I try to get as much rest as possible and don’t push myself. If I am feeling tired and it’s just not vibe-ing for me, then regardless of how much fun I planned on having, it’s time to go home.

I’m lucky enough to have amazing friends and family who understand this. What I haven’t found, unfortunately, is a good MAN who understands this. But, like everything else and what seems to be the theme of this blog post. that too, will come in time. I’m very up front and honest with friends or guys that I just meet who I plan on spending time with in the future. I let them know what happened to me, how I have to live my life, that I’m not about playing stressful mind games, and if they want to stick around, cool.

If not, cya!

It’s been 11 months and I’m still getting used to this jpouch. I don’t think next month my jpouch will be like, “Oh! I’ve been in here for a year! Time to start acting like an actual colon!”

Learning how to live this new, healthy life has been tough at times, but I wouldn’t change any of it for a second.

Here’s some pics proving that life has been pretty fun lately. (And one pic of Finn, because, he always makes me happy).

For more about my life with a jpouch, follow me on twitter: @brklynbouncer
And on Instagram: brklynbouncer

Leave a Reply

