whattt’ss uppp!

Hi everyone!

I’ve been meaning to blog for a while, but have been a little caught up with the way I’ve been feeling. Trying to recover, yet again, so that I can get back on my feet asap and get back to the new life I’ve built for myself up in CLE!

I keep telling myself I need to write an update post, for everyone and anyone who follows this blog, or me, and is wondering what the heck is wrong with me now. (LOL)

I keep saying I’m becoming one of those weird, sick people who always has some major issue to complain on social media about. I PROMISE I AM NOT A WEIRD SICK PERSON. I am having some slight issues with my “rectal cuff,” gross, I know. I have cuffitis, not pouchitis. Apparently, my jpouch looks beautiful!

Cuffitis is remaining colitis in the rectal mucosa that they leave in when they remove your colon so that you will still have the “urge,” to use the restroom. If I didn’t have my “rectal cuff,” I would have some leaking problems, which would prob be worse and more embarrassing that the issues I’m having now.

There is a 92% cure rate and I’m being treated by one of the best GI’s, like, ever, so I’m staying positive! More in depth update to come, but I did want to share a little something I was writing earlier today.

There is a passage from the Bible that struck me a while back when I was sick and beginning this journey. I am Catholic and though I am not an overly religious person, I have found that prayer and faith have gotten me through the darkest days of suffering and pain.

I found the passage on a colitis and Crohn’s forum, a young woman had written her story on this website and shared 2 Corinthians 12:10 at the end of her article. I quickly went into my bedroom, picked up my small Bible and flipped to the corresponding page.

As soon as I read the verse, I felt this immediate calm and serene feeling, like it had been placed in front of me to teach me that though I am suffering and confused, I should be thankful for the blessings that I do still have. I’m sharing it in hopes that it will help someone as much as it has helped me.

2 Corinthians 12:10 reads:

For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities; for when I am weak, then I am strong.

I now have the last part of the sentence, “for when I am weak, then I am strong 2 C 12:10,” tattooed on the inside of my right arm. My sisters and mom share the same tattoo. We all went and got them together 3 weeks after my first surgery. It serves as an everyday reminder that even when what I am facing is tough, it is only making me stronger.

2 thoughts on “whattt’ss uppp!

Leave a Reply

